Author Topic: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...  (Read 4267 times)

flyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« on: June 16, 2012, 08:52:50 am »
Hi there,

I couldn't find the answer to my question, so I have to ask here.

As the subject suggests, the majority of the screen of the iPad simulator is off the bottom of my screen.  I run at 1366x768 resolution and whilst I can move the simulator around my clicking and dragging on the edge of the iPad, whenever I try to move it up (so I can see the bottom third of the iPad screen (and the home button etc.), the virtual iPad springs back down so I can only click on the top two thirds of the screen.

Is there a way to make the simulator smaller so that I can view the whole iPad on screen at once?

I cannot get a higher resolution on my laptop than 768 vertically.  I could maybe try a portrait view for my screen but I don't want to have to change this setting everytime I recompile and want to test.

Any help is appreciated.

Flyer

nednones

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2012, 11:11:18 am »
It's a bugger as I suffer from the same problem. If you can, you could get an additional monitor and if you are running Vista or Windows 7 (basically not XP) you can set the 2nd monitor to be a landscape monitor and then physically rotate the monitor and drag your ipad simulator into the 2nd screen, that way you can always see the full ipad. Not sure on how you can see the ipad in a normal screen?

Scott

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2012, 02:00:45 am »
I think this was once a problem with the first version of DFSDK. If I remember right, there was a way of changing the size of the simulator but I cant remember how exactly. If you dont get an answer here, I would suggest emailing support.

Scott

flyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2012, 06:55:54 am »
Thanks for the replies guys.

Sometimes a second monitor is an option, but sometimes not...

I will send support an email and report back with the response!

jtincher227

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2012, 11:07:43 am »
Flyer,
Did you get any feedback from DF Support.  I am having this issue when developing on my laptop as well.
Thanks,
JT

DeadSn0wMan

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2012, 03:10:39 am »
I have a 1920x1080 resolution and I still can't see the entire simulater while it's in portrait mode

flyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 06:48:52 am »
jtincher227, I never received a reply about this...maybe my message didn't send properly.

I will maybe try and send it again.

F

tim

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1595
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • DragonFireSDK
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2012, 08:05:41 am »
If it's not there yet, please add a feature request for a smaller iPad simulator to the thread with feature requests.

Thanks,
Tim Sommers
DragonFireSDK Team

MnM

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2012, 11:13:11 pm »
Hi
Any answer to that ? For me, the SDK is useless, I can not test anything as I only see 1/3 of the screen.

Tim, what do you mean by "if it is not there yet" ?
if it is not on the suggestions list ? Does that mean that this cant be achieved and needs to be added to requests list ?!

thanks

tim

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1595
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • DragonFireSDK
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2012, 12:57:57 pm »
Yes.  If this has not yet been requested, please add it to the list.

Thanks,
Tim Sommers
DragonFireSDK Team

graham

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2012, 06:39:47 am »
has there been any movement on this question?

i don't really see how i can port my app to the ipad at present (i have 1600x900 resolution on my PC.)


jjsanchezramirez

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2012, 10:13:13 pm »
I guess it's just a matter of building and then testing on the iPad until the DFSDK team comes up with a better solution.

Nico91

  • Guest
Re: iPad Simulator Larger Than My Screen...
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2012, 01:39:43 am »
I need a smaller simulatore for the iPhone, it should also be seen on a 10-inch monitors.